The United Kingdom Mathematics Trust is a company limited by guarantee (no. 3271283) and a charity registered in England and Wales (no. 1059125). Our VAT number is 214255439.

Our Board of Trustees has control over, and legal responsibility for, our management and administration. The Board of Trustees sets the long-term strategic direction of the organisation and delegates tasks to Board Committees and the Executive Director. The Executive Director may, in turn, delegate tasks to Executive Committees and members of staff.

We operate within our Articles of Association.

Board of Trustees


Appointed by

Additional Board responsibilities

Term ends (term number)

Email Address

Dr David Crawford



Apr 2024 (3)


Dr James Cranch



Jul 2024 (1)


Mrs Sue Cubbon


Chair and Chair of Enrichment Executive Committee

Jul 2024 (1)

Mrs Rachel Dorris


Vice Chair

Oct 2022 (2)

Mr Tony Gardiner Members   Apr 2025 (1)  

Dr Sanja Hukovic


Chair of Risk and Compliance Board Committee

Jan 2025 (1)


Mr Graham Keniston-Cooper



Apr 2023 (2)


Mr Mark Knapton


Chair of Audit and Finance Board Committee

Mar 2024 (2)


Dr Ava Yeo



Apr 2025 (1)


Audit and Finance Board Committee

  • Dr David Crawford
  • Mr Mark Knapton (Chair)

Investment Board Committee

  • Dr David Crawford
  • Mr Paul Jefferys
  • Mr Mark Knapton
  • Mr David Shipley
  • Mr Simon Yun-Farmbrough (Chair)

Nominations and Remuneration Board Committee

  • Dr Katie Chicot
  • Mr Graham Keniston-Cooper
  • Prof Frances Kirwan
  • Prof Alastair Rucklidge (Chair)
  • Dr Ava Yeo

Risk and Compliance Board Committee

  • Prof Chris Budd OBE
  • Mrs Rachel Dorris
  • Dr James Cranch
  • Dr Sanja Hukovic (Chair)

Executive Board

  • Mr Jonathan Ayling
  • Mrs Sue Cubbon
  • Mrs Charlotte Hudson
  • Mr Rishi Gohill
  • Mr Chris Normington (Chair)
  • Dr Geoff Smith MBE
  • Mr Charlie Western

Executive Committees

British Mathematical Olympiad

  • Dr James Cranch
  • Dr Vesna Kadelburg (Secretary)
  • Prof Imre Leader
  • Dr Joseph Myers
  • Mr Dominic Rowland (Vice Chair)
  • Dr Geoff Smith MBE (Chair)
  • Dr Dominic Yeo


  • Ms Anne Baker
  • Dr David Crawford
  • Mrs Karen Fogden
  • Mr Howard Groves MBE
  • Dr Calum Kilgour
  • Prof Adam McBride OBE
  • Mr Paul Murray
  • Prof Chris Robson
  • Dr Alan Slomson (Interim-Chair)
  • Mrs Rosie Wiltshire
  • Mr Alex Voice
  • Mr Tom Bowler

Team Maths Challenges

  • Mr Phil Beckett
  • Miss Pam Hunt
  • Ms Andrina Inglis (Chair)
  • Ms Patricia Matheson (Secretary)
  • Mr Stephen Mulligan 
  • Mrs Heather Reeve


  • Mr José Brandão
  • Dr Katie Chicot
  • Ms Sue Cubbon (Chair) 
  • Dr Julian Gilbey
  • Mr James Hall
  • Mrs Lorna Piper 
  • Miss Abigail Royal
  • Dr Alan Slomson


  • Mr Robin Bhattacharyya
  • Dr Calum Kilgour
  • Dr Gerry Leversha (Chair)
  • Mr Nick Lord
  • Mr Stephen Power
  • Mr Dominic Rowland

Problems Groups

Problems Groups oversee the setting of competition papers. The chairs of the Problems Groups are as follows.

Problems Group Chair
Junior Mathematical Challenge Mr Howard Groves MBE
Junior Kangaroo Dr David Crawford
Junior Mathematical Olympiad Mr Tom Bowler
Intermediate Mathematical Challenge Mr Howard Groves MBE
Grey Kangaroo Dr David Crawford
Pink Kangaroo Mr Jacob Savage
Cayley, Hamilton and Maclaurin Olympiads Mr Stuart Haring
Senior Mathematical Challenge Mrs Karen Fogden
Senior Kangaroo Mr Carl James
British Mathematical Olympiad Mr Dominic Rowland
Mathematical Olympiad for Girls Dr Vesna Kadelburg
Primary Team Maths Resources Mr Dennis Pinshon


Page last updated 20 July 2022